1. Reconnaissance: Scanning the network for open ports and services, and enumerating vulnerabilities.

2. Exploitation: Automated exploitation of identified vulnerabilities.

3. Privilege escalation: Exploiting vulnerabilities to gain elevated privileges on the system.

4. Lateral movement: Moving from one compromised system to another within the network.

5. Data exfiltration: Copying data from the breached network to an external location.

Other related questions:

Can you automate penetration testing?

There is no single answer to this question as there is no one-size-fits-all approach to penetration testing. Depending on the specific needs of an organization, penetration testing can be automated to varying degrees. Some organizations may choose to automate only certain aspects of penetration testing, while others may automate the entire process.

What are the 5 stages of a penetration test?

1. Reconnaissance: Information gathering about the target system. This can be done passively (e.g. searching public sources of information) or actively (e.g. conducting port scans or social engineering attacks).

2. Scanning: Identifying potential vulnerabilities in the target system. This can be done using automated tools or manual methods.

3. Exploitation:Attempting to exploit vulnerabilities in the system to gain access or escalate privileges.

4. Post-exploitation: Maintaining access to the system and performing actions such as data exfiltration or installing backdoors.

5. Reporting: Documenting the findings of the penetration test and presenting them to the client.

Which of these is an automated vulnerability scanner you can use during penetration testing?

There are many different automated vulnerability scanners that can be used during penetration testing. Some popular options include Nessus, Qualys, and Retina.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • YesNo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *